At last BJP won Umreth constituency

At last BJP won Umreth constituency

At last BJP won Umreth constituency

Anand: The
triangular election war was fought between BJP, Congress and NCP for Kshatriya
dominant Umreth constituency; finally BJP won the election by 1883 votes since
after 2002. BJP contestant Govindbhai Ravjibhai Parmar got 68326 votes while
Kapilaben Chawda of Congress got 66443 votes. It is worth mentioning that since
beginning BJP was quite optimistic for the win as the coalition between
Congress and NCP did not take place. All the BJP supporters of Umreth constituency
were in triumph by the victory of their Kshatriya contestant. All the BJP
supporters gathered at Municipality and Panchavati areas and celebrated the
victory by bursting crackers. On this occasion, BJP General Secretary of Umreth
city Prakashbhai Patel, Municipality Counselor Gaurangbhai Choksi and Kanubhai
Shah were present along with other party workers and supporters. It is worth
mentioning that BJP is the ruling party in Umreth and Oadh Municipality which
benefitted Govindbhai Parmar in 2017 election as he got very fewer votes from
them in 2012 election. Some local BJP leaders were reluctant when Govindbhai
was selected as BJP contestant but the faith of voters for BJP rescued him from
the harm by the reluctant leaders. In 2012 assembly election, Govindbhai got
9013 votes while in 2017 election he got 9040 votes.

3687 NOTA
votes proved to be crucial….

Total 3687
votes were found to be NOTA (None Of The Above) in Umreth constituency means
that 3687 people in Umreth constituency disapproved all the candidates in a
voting system. BJP had won the constituency by only 1383 votes. If the NOTA
votes had supported Congress then the final result must have been affected.

was leading in postal ballot….

In postal
ballot voting, Congress got 442 votes, BJP got 348 votes, NCP got only 97
votes, independent candidate got 2 votes and 9 postal ballot votes were in
favor of NOTA while 121 postal ballot votes were rejected.

The first
win for BJP since 2002

Over the
last several years, BJP has not tasted victory over Umreth assembly
constituency. Lastly, BJP contestant Vishnu Patel had won Umreth constituency
in 2002. After that BJP had never won this seat till 2017. The victory of
Govindbhai Parmar by 1883 votes has brought a lot of joy in the BJP camp.